Use BFCM23 to get 30% off ISA products during the ISA Black Friday Week Sale!

Covering the Complete Cybersecurity Lifecycle for Industrial Automation and Control Systems

ISA Cybersecurity Certificate Program Image

The ISA industrial cybersecurity training courses and knowledge-based certificate recognition program are based on ISA/IEC 62443—the world’s only consensus-based series of automation cybersecurity standards, and a key component of government cybersecurity plans. This program covers the complete lifecycle of industrial automation and control system (IACS) assessment, design, implementation, operations, and maintenance.

The program is designed for professionals involved in IT and control system security roles that need to develop a command of industrial cybersecurity terminology, as well as a thorough understanding of the material embedded in the ISA/IEC 62443 series of standards. The ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity certificates are awarded to those who successfully complete a designated training course and pass a 75-100 question multiple choice exam.

Recommended Experience

While there are no required prerequisites or formal applications to begin this program, consider the following recommendations:

  • You should have three to five years of experience in the IT cybersecurity field, with some experience in an industrial setting—at least two years specifically in a process control engineering setting
  • Familiarity with the ISA/IEC 62443 standards is helpful
  • The advanced courses do have recommended course prerequisites and experience, but they are not required
  • Note that certificate one attainment is required to proceed to all other certificate levels

ISA/IEC 62443 Certificates and Requirements

Each certificate requires you to successfully complete a course and pass the exam. Successful completion of Certificate 1: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Fundamentals Specialist is required before taking exams for certificates 2, 3, and 4. The courses and certificate exams for 2, 3, and 4 may be taken in any order. The ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Expert certificate is awarded automatically upon successful completion of all four certificates.

Certificate 1: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Fundamentals Specialist

Certificate 2: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Risk Assessment Specialist

Certificate 3: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist

Certificate 4: ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Maintenance Specialist

The ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Expert

  • Individuals who achieve Certificates 1, 2, 3, and 4 are automatically designated as ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Experts


You are not required to renew your ISA/IEC 62443 certificate(s); however, once obtained your certificate(s) will only be considered current for three (3) years. To learn more about extending the current status of your certificate(s), visit the Certificate Renewal page.

Get Started for Free

All ISA cybersecurity certificate courses are offered in self-paced, modular format as well as instructor-led offerings. You can take the first module of the self-paced format of each course for free. Then choose the format that best fits your needs to complete the full course. Click the links below to take the first module free today.

  • ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Fundamentals Specialist 
    Free Module 1: Introduction to Control Systems Security (IC32M01)
  • ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Risk Assessment Specialist certificate
    Free Module 1: Preparing for an Assessment (IC33M01)
  • ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Design Specialist certificate
    Free Module 1: Assessment Overview (IC34M01)
  • ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Maintenance Specialist certificate
    Free Module 1: Review of Assess Phase (IC37M01)
Complete all four certificates and earn the ISA/IEC 62443 Cybersecurity Expert certificate.